Professorship Honors Robert J. Musselman

A successful fundraising drive among former students and friends has resulted in the establishment of an endowed professorship to honor Dr. Robert Musselman for his 38 years of teaching and service. He has been a member of the faculty since 1969 and was the first chairman of the Department of Pediatric Dentistry.

The purpose of the professorship is to recruit and retain outstanding faculty. Specifically, funds can be used for research, training, state-of-the-art equipment and professional development. Donors contribute $60,000 and the Foundation for the Louisiana Board of Regents contributes $40,000.

Dr. Musselman received his DDS and M.S. from the Indiana School of Dentistry in Indianapolis. He completed his internship and residency in pediatric dentistry at the James Whitcomb Riley Hospital for Children, also in Indianapolis.

“The general principle that has guided me in teaching our residents is that we will help them become the best pediatric dentists possible,” said Dr. Musselman. “The fact that they recognized this makes me feel honored.”

Dr. Priyanshi Ritwik, assistant professor and head of the advanced education program, noted that “Dr. Musselman taught me everything I know in pediatric dentistry and he taught me how to think critically. He is a great teacher and an ardent advocate for children’s health care.”

“We are here first of all to take care of the child,” Dr. Musselman said. “Nothing can take away from our focus on the child.”

Drs. Ritwik and Priyadarshan Dabir spearheaded the effort to raise the money. The donors are Drs. Edward L. Donaldson, William R. Posnick, Stanley B. Saunders, Pamela R. Shaw, Elsa C. Alfonzo-Echeverria, Gail V. Benton, Michael L. Boyd, Mala A. Britto, Kennell P. Brown, Claudia A. Cavallino, Zenaida E. Cuisia, Ronald A. Curran, Priyadarshan A. Dabir, Paul H. Duga, Roger G. Grimball, John A. Hendry, Johnnie L. Hunt, Richard D. Olinde, Priyanshi Ritwik, Thomas H. Wingo, Linda T. Cao, Joyce S. Fernandes, Joe W. Gilmore, Thomas J. Kiebach, George M. Maragakis and Steven J. Marcello.

LSU Health Sciences Center Homepage
Disclaimer, Privacy Policy
© Copyright 2010. All rights reserved.

Last Update 11/2010