Scholarship Recipients, 2018-2019

Baldridge Scholarship
The following students received the 2018 Baldridge Scholarship for their outstanding academic achievements in 2017-2018. Scholarships are awarded in each class to the students with the highest overall GPA. The first-year dental students are selected on undergraduate GPA and performance on the DAT examination.

D1:  Jaden Danos, Gabrielle Ingram, Kaleigh Newman, Joshua Pate, Matthew Thornhill
D2:  Joanna Boutwell, Lennon Coon, Minh Do, Abby Earles, Kristen Hamilton, Ryan Riley, Alanna Stewart, Quang Vu
D3:  Thomas Beckstrom, Brandon Breard, Emily Guarisco, Zachary Jackson, Lauren Langlois
D4:  Davis Beard, Daniel Gonzales, Ashley Horton, Camille Green, Brooks Hummel

Delta Dental of Arkansas Scholarship

Tracy Helm Scholarship
The 2019 Tracy Helm scholarship was presented on April 17, 2019, to senior dental hygiene student Kailey Unger. The scholarships honors a senior dental hygiene student who is outgoing, kind, and considerate of her faculty, fellow students, and patients.

Hotel Dieu Medical and Dental Staff Scholarship in Dentistry
The 2018 recipient of the Hotel Dieu Medical and Dental Staff Scholarship in Dentistry is Skylar Vaughn. The scholarship honors a fourth-year dental student who has demonstrated outstanding scholarship, leadership, and professionalism for the first three years of dental school.

John Lapeze Scholarship
Betzayda Mojica, DLT junior student, was awarded the 2018-2019 Lapeze Scholarship.

James L. Rodriguez Rodgers & Betty Rodgers Scholarship
The purpose of this scholarship is to provide assistance and encouragement to worthy dental students who have completed the LSUSD Summer Enrichment Program. The program encourages under-represented minority students and students from disadvantaged backgrounds to pursue a career in dentistry. Dr. James Rodgers is a 1976 LSUSD graduate. Students receive the scholarship for each of their four years of dental school.

D1:  Hannah Broussard, Delmy Urbina, Tram-Anh Vu
D2:  Thanh Thi Nguyen, Ashley Vu
D3:  Seaira-Myangel Miles, Tami Nguyen, Tariq Swati
D4:  Grace Bernhard, Trang Le, Kimberly Truong

William F. Toler Memorial Scholarship
Thomas Beckstrom, third-year dental student, is the recipient of the Toler Memorial Scholarship for 2018. This scholarship honors a third-year dental student who has shown outstanding academic ability throughout the first two years of school and has earned a high opinion within the dental school community for scholarship, leadership and citizenship, and professionalism.

Grace Voigt Scholarship
The Grace Voigt Scholarship honors second-, third-, and fourth-year dental students who have demonstrated outstanding leadership, concern for fellow students and patients, high ethical standards, and dedication to the profession of dentistry. The 2018 recipients are Gerard Scannell, D2; Celeste Edwards D3; and Ross Harris, D4.


LSU Health Sciences Center Homepage
Disclaimer, Privacy Policy
Copyright 2022. All rights reserved.

Last Update 5/2019