Setting the Standard in Orofacial Pain

Dr. Henry Gremillion has been appointed by the American Academy of Orofacial Pain (AAOP) to serve on the American Dental Association committee that sets the standards for the teaching of orofacial pain in the 58 dental schools in the United States. The announcement was made by Dr. Jeffrey Crandall, president of the AAOP, who said, “Henry will represent the AAOP well.” Dr. Gremillion’s appointment is for four years.

The committee is comprised of 12 members who make consensus recommendations on policy, standards revisions, and accreditation status reports specific to postdoctoral general dentistry education.  The disciplines represented on the committee are general practice residency, advanced education in general dentistry and advanced general dentistry education in dental anesthesiology, oral medicine and orofacial pain. In addition, the committee also has a public representative, a higher education/hospital administration representative, and a specialty dentist representative.

In 2008, Dr. Gremillion also served on an ad hoc committee of the commission to develop accreditation standards for advanced general dentistry education programs in orofacial pain. The standards were implemented earlier this year.

LSU Health Sciences Center Homepage
Disclaimer, Privacy Policy
© Copyright 2010. All rights reserved.

Last Update 10/2010