News Archives


A Salute to Our University Police

On Monday, August 15, 2016, at noon, LSUHSC Chief of Police William Joseph addressed the LSU School of Dentistry faculty and staff on the topic of campus safety and security. Accompanied by Mr. Edwin Murray, vice chancellor for community and minority affairs, Chief Joseph outlined the various safety measures that University Police has implemented to maintain safety on the LSUHSC campuses. Among the newer tools are uTIP, a text messaging service allowing faculty, staff, and students to alert University Police about an emergency, crime, or suspicious activity, and LSU Shield, a mobile application enabling emergency communication with LSUHSC Police.

We salute members of the University Police for keeping LSUSD secure. Their 24-hour presence and the new technologies enhance campus safety.

(l-r) Vice Chancellor Edwin Murray, Dean Gremillion,
and LSUHSC Police Chief William Joseph

Touro Infirmary Supports Dental School

In late June Dr. Hisham Nasr, chairman of the Touro Infirmary Dental Seminar, presented a check for $10,000 to LSUSD in appreciation of the school’s role in hosting the annual seminar, held this year on February 26.

The Touro Infirmary Dental Seminar is dedicated to the pursuit of excellence in dental education and professional skills in dentistry. The lecture began in 1983 as the Charles W. Rossner to provide an annual accredited lecture on advances in dentistry. It continues today as a program of the Touro Infirmary Dental Department, supported by the Touro Infirmary Foundation.

The 2017 seminar on February 17 will feature Drs. Gerard Chiche and John Burgess, who will present “Smile Design: Materials and Techniques by the Masters.”

Dr. Hisham Nasr presents Dean Gremillion with a check from the Touro Infirmary Dental Seminar

Dr. Eugenia Prokopets Receives Wilderman Award

Third-year periodontics resident Eugenia Prokopets, DDS, MSD, received the Malbern N. Wilderman Award this year in recognition of her excellence in academics, meritorious research, clinical proficiency, and exemplary interpersonal relationships. Dr. Prokopets received her DDS from Marquette University and completed a GPR residency at Columbia University. Upon graduation from the LSUSD periodontics residency, she joined a private practice in the Maryland-Washington, D.C. area.

Dr. Wilderman served as chairman and program director of the periodontics departments at Loyola University and LSUSD. Considered one of the best periodontists in the country, he was nationally renowned for his research in bone and wound healing.

Dr. Ronald Monica, a periodontics resident at Loyola University during Dr. Wilderman’s tenure, started the Wilderman Award at LSUSD in 2000. “He was my friend and mentor,” said Dr. Monica. “I always wanted to do something to recognize his contributions to the field.” The award is given annually to one high-achieving third-year resident in the LSUSD Department of Periodontics.

Eugenia Prokopets, DDS, MSD, 2016 Wilderman Award recipient


LSU Health Sciences Center Homepage
Disclaimer, Privacy Policy
© Copyright 2016. All rights reserved.

Last Update 9/2016