Simon Honored in Endodontics

Denis E. “Chip” Simon III, DDS, MS

Denis E. “Chip” Simon III, DDS, MS, an alumnus of the LSU School of Dentistry (LSUSD), has received the Edgar D. Coolidge Award, the highest honor given by the American Association of Endodontics (AAE). This award recognizes leadership and exemplary dedication to dentistry and the specialty of endodontics.
Dr. Simon, who received his DDS degree in 1976 and his certificate in endodontics in 1980, has served gratis as an assistant clinical professor in the Department of Endodontics since 1984. In 2005, he was honored with the LSUSD Alumnus of the Year award. Over the span of decades, he has generously volunteered his time and provided support for LSUSD as well as the AAE. He played an important role in advocating nationally for LSUSD following Hurricane Katrina.
A diplomate of the American Board of Endodontics, Dr. Simon is past-president of the Greater Baton Rouge Dental Association (1987), the American Association of Endodontists (1997-1998), the Louisiana Dental Association (2004) and the American Association of Endodontists Foundation (2010). He is a fellow of the American College of Dentists, the International College of Dentists and the Pierre Fauchard Academy.
Dr. Simon has also been appointed to serve on the Board of Directors of the Foundation of the LSU Health Sciences Center (LSUHSC).The foundation was formed in 1988 to support and promote the charitable, scientific and educational mission of LSUHSC, which is comprised of the schools of dentistry, medicine, public health, nursing, allied health and graduate studies. Two other dental school alumni are members of the foundation board: Randolph Green, DDS ’78 and Virginia Angelico, DDS ’79.

LSU Health Sciences Center Homepage
Disclaimer, Privacy Policy
© Copyright 2011. All rights reserved.

Last Update 8/2011