Farrar Named Outstanding Hygienist

Suzanne K. Farrar, RDH, MSHCM, has been selected by the Louisiana Dental Hygienists Association (LDHA) to receive its Outstanding Dental Hygienist Award for 2010. The award is given for excellence in service and outstanding contribution to the art and science of dental hygiene. The announcement was made by Diane O’Connor, RDH, BSDH, president of the LDHA.

Farrar is associate professor in the Division of Administration, Department of Comprehensive Dentistry and Biomaterials and director of clinical staff and patient services. In collaboration with Dr. Michael O’Brien, professor in the LSUSD Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, she was instrumental in passage of the bill to allow dental hygienists to administer nitrous oxide to patients after an educational requirement.

Since 2004, she has been awarded the LSUSD Golden Apple for Excellence in Teaching three times. She is a member of Omicron Kappa Upsilon (OKU), the national dental honor society.

LSU Health Sciences Center Homepage
Disclaimer, Privacy Policy
© Copyright 2010. All rights reserved.

Last Update 9/2010