E-Newsletter of the LSU School of Dentistry

Meet the New Dentists

At the 39th commencement ceremony of the LSUHSC School of Dentistry on May 13th, 2010, 113 degrees were conferred on 60 dental students, 43 dental hygienists and 10 dental laboratory technicians. Twelve of the graduates, Paul Beyt, Ben Bumgardner, Julia Cheuk, Taylor Denicola, Ben Foster, David Guidry, David Hastings, Rachael Marchand, Laura Tomaszewski, Taylor Trahan, Katheryne Smith and Charles Wilson, are children of dentists or dental hygienists. Click here for a complete list of graduates.

At the traditional Recognition Day, held each year one day before graduation, 67 awards for outstanding achievement were given out. Winners of the Chancellor's Awards were Benjamin Bumgardner, DDS; Heather Hebert, DH and Thuy Thu Le, DLT. Edward J. Ireland, Jr., DDS, M.Ed., professor in the Department of Comprehensive Dentistry and Biomaterials, was presented the coveted Allen A. Copping Excellence in Teaching Award, the highest honor in teaching given by the LSU Health Sciences Center. Dr. Ireland has been a member of the dental school faculty since 1973.

Click here for a complete list of the award winners.



Dean Honored with Lifetime Service Award

Henry Gremillion, DDS, MAGD, dean of the <u>LSUHSC School of Dentistry</u> (LSUSD) has been selected by the <u>American Academy of Orofacial Pain</u> (AAOP) to receive its 2010 award for "exemplary and unselfish service," according to Donald Tanenbaum, DDS,



MPH, immediate pastpresident of the AAOP. The lifetime service award was given at the AAOP annual scientific meeting which was attended by 280 dental clinicians, academicians and researchers from seven countries.

"This award reflects our appreciation for Dr. Gremillion's dedication to educating the dental community about pain, not only to our academy members but to dental students, dentists and other health care professionals throughout the world," said Dr. Tanenbaum. "Education is about altruism and over the last 20 years, Dr. Gremillion has given generously of his time and knowledge to educate others."

Upon graduation from LSUSD in 1977, Dr. Gremillion returned to his hometown of Cottonport to practice dentistry. After 12 years of private practice, he pursued a fellowship in orofacial pain at the University of Florida School of Dentistry in Gainesville and received his certificate in orofacial pain in 1991. He rose through the school's academic ranks, ultimately being named the Mahan Endowed Professor in Orofacial Pain at the University of Florida. In 1995, he received the designation of MAGD from the Academy of General Dentistry which, in 2008, awarded him its most prestigious honor, the Thaddeus V. Weclew Award for dedication to education and commitment to comprehensive dental care. In 2008, he was named dean of LSUSD.

Also receiving a lifetime service award was Dr. Ron Auvenshine, a former faculty member at LSUSD, who was Dr. Gremillion's original mentor. The two met in 1974 on Dr. Gremillion's first day of dental school. At the time, Dr. Auvenshine was pursuing a doctorate in anatomy. They maintained close ties since that time and share a commitment to education, patient care and giving back to the profession.